Collaborations of Abstraction

For those not celebrating Christmas, I salute you.

Posted on: December 20, 2009

Every year about this time I am accused of being a Scrooge. It just so happens I am not a fan of the holidays. So sue me. To be honest, I feel like I should be able to give the middle finger to all those people who look at me like I’ve demanded the blood of their first born because I said I don’t wanna hang up Christmas lights.

I know maybe I’m perpetuating the stereotype of the Scrooge character by bitching about this, but if people would just let me be instead of treating me like a leper, maybe I wouldn’t have to get so fucking defensive about it.

Thank the Universe for Ani Difranco:

welcome to:
no amount of stoned makes you feel ok
welcome to:
this year’s alone – brought to you by Christmas day
welcome to:
the darkness into which prayin people pray

it’s quiet here except for this song
now that everybody’s gone
but hey
least you don’t have to play along today

welcome to:
something like elation when you first open your eyes
just cuz it means
that you musta finally got to sleep last night
welcome to:
the precipice between groundlessness and flight

it’s quiet here except for this song
now that everybody’s gone
but hey
least you don’t have to play along today

besides which
welcome to:
taking the good stuff down off of the shelf
and welcome to:
the art of conversation with yourself
welcome to:
humming an unbroken tune
all day long
yes it’s quiet here
but hey
least you don’t have to play along today

3 Responses to "For those not celebrating Christmas, I salute you."

Best Christmas i ever had was last year, spent on my own watching Dr Who..

I have a dislike for the “Holiday season” for many reasons but i think my biggest gripe with it now is it starts so bloody early, having to suffer over two months of the shite is enough to want me to move to a non Christian country and raise chickens for the rest of my life.

I loved that we volunteered last year on Christmas instead of doing the traditional gifts and church service canned routine. It’s ironic that people call you Scrooge just because you don’t participate in the Hallmark card version of Christmas (which has very little to do with helping your fellow man and is mostly about appearances and greed). Anyone who thinks you’re a Scrooge needs to brush up on their Dickens.

Iain, I love chickens. And eggs. Yum!!! No Christmas and all the fresh eggs I want? Maybe we had the wrong idea all this time and your plan is the right one! Or maybe we just need to spend more time around the holidays with people like ourselves and Jen.

Jen, I had the most fun last Christmas. It felt good and was a lot of fun. Remember that madness in the kitchen? I love you for your comment. It warmed my heart. And *that* is what the season is all about, right?

Hugs to you both!

Leave a Reply

Collaborations of Abstraction

Two close (though, unfortunately, not in proximity) friends – a Welsh man living in Ireland and a Minnesotan woman living in Germany – come together to share musings, wit and random things of interest in this journey called life

Archives

Categories

