Collaborations of Abstraction

The deadliest of the Seven Sins, according to one recovering Christian

Posted on: December 2, 2009

In the spirit of the season, Imeem.com (a music website really worth signing up for btw) created a playlist all about money:

Retail Therapy: Songs about Money & Shopping

This morning I heard on NPR that the word avarice was looked up on average 34% more than last year. Its definition? Greed.

In the newspaper I read that most of government funding for college is going to for-profit colleges. It makes sense considering these colleges target lower-income students. http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5gKqtyRg7rHyINnnPNx_rCuBhUd2gD9C9B6KO0

As health care reform becomes (again) the center of debate in the Senate, my boyfriend tells me that he and his coworkers are faced with a 300% increase in premiums this year. What’s worse? His coverage compared with past years, that’s what’s worse

I love where I live. I think it’s paradise most days of the week. But today something hit me that hasn’t in a while: Anger. I am truly furious by the irresponsible conduct of a few people. Or maybe it’s more than a few people.

Is it important to make a few extra million? Must you really have that helicopter landing pad with the man-made waterfall behind it? And yes I do know what you pay in taxes on that cash you rake in…not that my bank account could fathom that amount in my entire life. Greedy fuckers.

I used to think that making money off of health and education was a relatively new idea, but that’s not true at all. At one point only the aristocracy had time for schooling. And only royalty knew when their true birth dates were because they were privy to that knowledge and healthcare.

Now ordinarily I try to think in a solution-based manner. But I’m seeing red and I have had enough of health and education as a commodity. Maybe this is wasted energy. Maybe on a long enough timeline the survival rate for everyone drops to zero. But until it does, I will continue to despise greed, waste and entitlement, especially when it comes at the expense of the entire planet.

Leave a Reply

Collaborations of Abstraction

Two close (though, unfortunately, not in proximity) friends – a Welsh man living in Ireland and a Minnesotan woman living in Germany – come together to share musings, wit and random things of interest in this journey called life

Archives

Categories

